Another Salted Silk Scarf +starting another

        

Getting a rather late start and not feeling up to trying my luck with re-writing the Langston Hughes poem scarf that I mucked up yesterday, I did another scarf with darker colors this time and then sprinkled it with salt.

I also started a more complex scarf that will take more than one day to do. I often put a few words on a larger scarf in a graffiti style. This time I’ve chosen the words “It’s Halftime” and “What do you want”. You may laugh but I was quite personally inspired by Clint Eastwood’s commercial during halftime at the Superbowl. Not the car advertisement part, or any political overtone that some people seem to be reading into it, or even to more than a little degree the idea of an American Renaissance. I’m just about precisely chronologically in halftime (assuming average expected American lifespan) and I like the idea of taking a bit of time to make a plan on how to make the second half of the game better.

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

3 comments

  1. your silk work is exquisite! I can’t see exactly how you got the silk scarf suspended in that frame. Is it stitched in or do you have tiny little clamp ends on those threads?
    Do you sew the scarfs and finish the edges yourself?
    Fabulous work.

  2. Thanks for the compliments :)
    I’ll post a close up so you can see how it looks. I use safety pins stuck up through the fabric with a rubber band stretched to a push pin into the frame. There are official silk stretching pin-like things Iook like sharp little rakes) but I haven’t felt the need to invest in them yet.
    I do NOT sew the edges myself. I can sew but really couldn’t face up to doing all that work and not have a colorful thing to show for it. I buy blank scarves from Dharma Trading Co online (dharmatrading.com). You can buy almost anything dyeable (cotton, silk, rayon – fabric, t-shirts, scarves – dyes, paints, markers etc, etc) from them. Good for professional artists to kids’ projects.
    Thanks again for checking out my work.

  3. Hi bapaints,
    I’ve written an entry in my regular blog giving very basic instructions on how to paint a silk scarf. I’ve included a close up picture of the pins and rubber bands suspending the scarf in the frame for you. https://susanbrandt.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment