Day 26 – taxes

048-004-02554-0

Yes, it’s true, my thing-a-day is starting my taxes. I’ve gotten all of the various documents from employers, banks, etc so what I was procrastination was figuring out my expenses for my business. So, today, I recorded all the receipts that were in my file.  I don’t know if there are any more floating around the house. There may be, but I feel like this was a solid start. There were at least 100 receipts in the file.

Rereading all of the receipts I realized all the money I spent of things that I either didn’t continue with to develop a product line, or I did and have since figured out that I don’t want to continue the line. Oh, well. For example, I bought some simple lamps from Target and covered the shade with my silk. I took them to a bunch of shows to sell. The problem was that the lampshades don’t nest. They are a barrel shape and don’t fit one inside the other. So, they took up a lot of room in my already jammed car and several got damaged during the process. I’ve got about 6 of them downstairs that I need to do something with, perhaps lots of embellishment to cover the holes, creases, or gaps in the seam.

 

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

Leave a Reply

