Day 24 – apply to shows

IMG_2464

Ugh – I had a very bad habit the last couple of days (okay, four) of doing something I knew I was going to upload to thing-a-day and then not uploading it. So, in a marathon of uploading, in reverse order, we have today: 

I applied to a couple of craft shows. I know it doesn’t seem like a big deal, but this involves taking pictures, then choosing which ones best exemplify my body of work (ugh), editing them, sizing them, uploading…you get the idea. To that end yesterday (don’t worry, I have another thing for yesterday, but “applying to shows” doesn’t have a good visual so I’m cannibalizing) I set up my whole tent with the only two types of products I wanted to used to apply to a high end show, so none of my kitchy things here. I had to make two separate applications and pay two separate application fees, one for jewelry, one for scarves. There are a lot of crafters making jewelry so the good shows try very hard to make a balance. Potentially I could be accepted for jewelry and not for scarves or vica versa. I don’t know what I’m going to do if it’s jewelry only, I certainly don’t have a whole tent’s worth of it.

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

3 comments

  1. If you get accepted for jewelry only, make some simple scarf rings and sell them as a combo with your scarves!

  2. You mean a two for one sort of a thing? It’s a good idea but I probably wouldn’t be able to get away with it. I never get away with things, too little practice.

  3. So colourful. I wish you luck – I’m sure you’ll be accepted. Your scarves are one of a kind.

    It sounds like a lot of hard work.

Leave a Reply

