Day 20 – Smoked Salmon pasta

IMG_2453

My son said this recipe just came to him. I really like it and it’s pretty easy to make. The only problem for me is that the salmon is expensive ($7 to $11).

Ingredients (what I used, though it’s easy to substitute with what you have)

1 lb. pasta (thin linguini)
1 T oil
1/2 cup onion, finely chopped
smoked salmon (4 oz, thinly sliced, sold in a packet)
2 cans garbanzo beans/chick peas, drained
1/2 to 1 cup shredded cheese (pepper jack)
salt (to taste, 1/4 t)
1/4 – 1/2 c water the pasta was cooked in

Cook the pasta as usual. If you start on the other stuff right after you start the pasta it should be done by the time you’re ready for it which is what you want.

In a large frying pan or pot fry the onions in the oil until they are just turning golden.

To the pan add the garbanzo beans (chick peas), shred the salmon into it, add the shredded cheese, salt to taste and pasta water. Mix and cook over medium heat for about 10 minutes or until heated through. Turn off heat.

Mix the pasta into the pot. Heat if necessary but if you’ve timed it right, the pasta will still be piping hot. Add more pasta water if needed to make a moist, but not dripping, mixture.

I didn’t have pepper jack cheese today so I used cheddar and a smidge of cayenne pepper powder. Not enough so you feel the heat, but so the pasta knows it’s there.

I serve it in a bowl with something green on the side though now that I have 3 pounds of broccoli the kid says he’s sick of it so he had salad. Isn’t that always the way?

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

One comment

  1. You should borrow my husband for a while. He loves to fish and we always have a freezer full. I don’t mind when he comes back after three days in upstate NY, because he brings home salmon, smoked, fresh and one we take to the local butcher to cure like lox. I wish he liked to eat fish as much as he likes to catch it.

Leave a Reply

