Thing a Day 17

TAD17a

Westley is hooked up to The Machine.

Count Rugen: Beautiful, isn’t it? Took me half a lifetime to invent it. I’m sure you’ve discovered my deep and abiding interest in pain. At present I’m writing the definitive work on the subject, so I want you to be totally honest with me on how The Machine makes you feel. This being our first try, I’ll use the lowest setting.

He turns on The Machine. Westley is in terrible pain.

Count Rugen: As you know, the concept of the suction pump is centuries old. Really that’s all this is except that instead of sucking water, I’m sucking life. I’ve just sucked one year of your life away. I might one day go as high as five, but I really don’t know what that would do to you, so let’s just start with what we have. What did this do to you? Tell me. And remember, this is for posterity, so be honest. How do you feel?

Westley whimpers in pain.

Count Rugen: Interesting.

Leave a Reply

