Day 12 – Scarf card

IMG_2388

I need more encouraging quotes… I already do simple folded cards and tuck scarves inside. I write “Happy Birthday” or “Merry Christmas” repeatedly on the scarf and once on the front of the card. One of the shop owners where I sell my scarves said she had a customer who really liked the card idea but with a quotation on it, not a holiday or special occasion message. Something encouraging for a friend. So, I’ve been trying to find encouraging quotes. It hasn’t been that easy, to be frank. So many are close but not quite right. If you know any, I’d be happy to hear them.

IMG_2389

I did find this one. By Washington Irving:

“There is in every true woman’s heart a spark of heavenly fire, which lies dormant in the broad daylight of prosperity; but which kindles up, and beams and blazes in the dark hour of adversity. “

IMG_2387

 

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

6 comments

  1. I love your scarves.
    Pinterest is a fantastic place for finding inspirational quotes.

  2. I love them too and I love the idea of the cards as well. Did you ever do anything with the Haitian shacks I painted last year? I was going to suggest Pinterest as well for quotes. There are a lot of people who have “quote” boards.

  3. Hi, If you ask me, i would wear a scarf with quotes from Lao Tzu ‘s Tao Te Ching. :) I posted today on my blog a short story about how that book inspires me. http://truebrite.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/handwriting-as-a-pre-drawing-tool/. Great idea, by the way!

  4. Susan

    Thanks for the ideas, guys, keep them coming. I’d have never thought of Pinterest for quotes. bjcobb, I haven’t, but I when I was looking back at 2013 posts I saw it again and remembered. I really do want to do one. Fortunately, it’s early enough in Thing-A-Day that I should be able to do one this month. Stay tuned…

  5. Pinterest is addictive … BE WARNED!! ;)

  6. jobothewhitedove

    Never give up! Never surrender!

    I’ll go sit in my nerd corner.

Leave a Reply

