Day 10 – Eubie/UB Blake song scarf

IMG_2385

Even though I accomplished things over the last few days I just couldn’t get myself to post. Enjoyed reading everyone else’s though. So here is ‘Day 10’ a scarf with musical notes from a Eubie Blake song, “I’m Just Wild About Harry”.

I wanted to do something with bees as music notes and the songs of Eubie Blake because the mascot for one of the local universities (The University of Baltimore) is named Eubie which sounds just like UB. It’s named after famous native son, Eubie Blake, jazz and ragtime musician, lyricist, and composer.

I looked at a bunch of Mr. Blake’s lyrics and stumbled across I’m Just Wild About Harry, a song that I recognized though I didn’t know most of the lyrics:

I’m just wild about Harry
And Harry’s wild about me.
The heav’nly blisses
Of his kisses
Fill me with ecstasy.

He’s sweet just like choc’late candy,
And just like honey from a bee.

Perfect! The scarf has the exact notes for the last line with bees for the solid notes and honeycombs for the open ones.

IMG_2386

And then I learned something about the song itself. It’s the 1921 Broadway show, Shuffle Along, he wrote the music for. Copying shamelessly from Wikipedia, Shuffle Along “was the first financially successful Broadway play to have African-American writers and an all African-American cast. The song [I’m Just Wild…] broke what had been a taboo against musical and stage depictions of romantic love between African-Americans.” Josephine Baker joined the Broadway cast when she turned 16.

IMG_2384

Here are links to the song performed by Judy Garland, Carmen Miranda (with a big hat and platform heels that would be in style now), a really zippy version from 1933 Billy Cotton and his Band, and Jean Stapleton with the Muppets, especially Crazy Harry with his dynamite.(It’s nuts!!!)

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

One comment

Leave a Reply

