TAD Day 11-Make your own van Leeuwenhoek Microscope

TAD Day 11-Make your own van Leeuwenhoek

Make your own van Leeuwenhoek. Ever since I read that title in Make magazine, vol 20: p125, I have wanted to make one. This day, 11, I made one out of Fun Foam using techniques I read in a book by Thomas Willeford, The Steampunk Adventurers Guide: Contraptions, Creations, and Curiosities Anyone Can Make.

It is using a clear marble as lens to make a simple microscope. The smaller the marble the more magnification you get. The ‘E’ is from a Joker card to give a sense of magnification. You have to hold the microscope and item real close to your eye with enough light. If I had a third hand I could show you.

2 comments

  1. That came through their twitter feed a week or so ago. I had to google it. Nice to see the finished work since that article caught my eye too.

  2. sddfskfkkk

    ,,,((( O people! Say “No God But Allah” To Obtain Salvation )))

    How Does Someone Become a Muslim?

    http://nogodbutallah1.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

