Day 10: A Few Things

Well, today was not nearly as productive as it could have been/I expected. It started off with a call from a recruiter (I am currently job hunting) while I was still in bed and declined from there. But, I did manage to finish the piece of finger crocheting that I started yesterday.

photo (7) photo (8)

It ended up about two-ish feet wide by three-ish feet long, which makes it about exactly large enough to cover my legs and nothing else (not even my feet), but I think that I am going to keep it this way. I like how it is the perfect size to fold up and use as a super soft travel pillow. I can also pin or lace it up and use it as a thick hooded cowl or as a capelet. So, this size I think it shall remain.

Having finished that, I pretty much wasted the whole afternoon on tumblr and pitying myself for the hardships of job hunting, but eventually got out a sketch book and got to work. As referenced by the mention of tumblr, I have been spending a bit too much time looking at fanart of dwarves from the Tolkien universe online. I also recently aquired the concept design book for the first Hobbit Movie. I have generally been pretty unhappy with the portrayal of dwarvish women (especially in Jackson’s “interpretations”) and have, therefore, decided to take matters into my own hands.

By which I mean I am going to draw a dwarven version of Botticelli’s Birth of Venus.

This evening’s work consisted of doodling away trying to figure out how I wanted to portray the big bearded Venus (proportions, beard layout and so on) and generally what I wanted going on around her. This is what I achieved.

photo (9)

All in all, I am happy with the start that I have and think I will continue playing with this for the next few days. Unfortunately, I will be on the road for an interview a few states over, so do not expect too much progress, but there will be some if I can help it!

Leave a Reply

