Day 9 – Cornish Pasties

IMG_2381

 

We haven’t had many food posts this go round. I changed the filling from the original here. I made something close to the original the first time but my son didn’t love it. Figuring that ground beef and cheese was more his flavor profile, I changed it up. He ate half before I could take a picture.

This is my second try at this recipe. What I did better this time was let the dough remain slightly thick. The pasties hold their shape better, my first batch was floppy.  There might be a bit too much dough per filling. Next time I’m going to try to make the pasties slightly larger and see if that does anything good.

Cornish Pasties

Dough
3 1/2 c flour
1 t salt
10 T cold butter, cut into cubes
6-8 T ice water

My Filling
1 lb ground beef, lower fat content is best
1 small onion, very finely diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup water
1 small potato, finely diced
2 c broccoli, finely diced
salt
pepper
10 oz shredded cheddar cheese (this makes it pretty cheesy, reduce if you like
2 eggs, whisked separately
3 T ketchup

This makes about 32 pasties which is a lot. You may even have a little filling leftover. Half it if you like.

Mix flour and salt in large bowl. Cut in butter until the mixture looks like coarse crumbs. Add ice water 1 T at a time, mix with a fork in a fluffy way. Only use as much water as will make the dough stick together (though frankly, I like my dough a little wet, otherwise it’s too dry when you roll it out). Form into two balls. Wrap each in plastic wrap, chill for an hour.

Brown beef in large skillet. Drain as much fat off as you can, you don’t want your filling to be too wet. Add onion and garlic, cook until lightly browned. Add half cup water and potato. Bring to boil, reduce heat, cover. Cook about 5 minutes, until potato is just tender, not mushy. Add salt and pepper according to your taste. Transfer to large bowl. Add cheese, one whisked egg, and ketchup. Mix.

Divide each dough ball in half again so you have 4 balls. Roll the first one out on floured surface until 1/8″ thick. (What I do is roll it out to about that, maybe a 10″ circle, like a slightly thin sugar cookie.) Cut 8 discs with a 5″ cutter. (I used a plastic drink cup with a very thin side – actually a 7-11 giveaway to promote the new, at the time, Terminator movie. I don’t worry about making the dough very thin because I can roll it out a bit after I cut it.) Repeat for the other 3 balls of dough.

Coat baking sheet with cooking spray (or a light covering of oil). Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Take each disc of dough, roll it a little thinner if desired. Brush the edge with egg wash. Place enough filling in the disc so that you can still fold the dough over to a semi circle with no filling covering the edge. You must be able to seal the edge by squashing it with the tines of a fork. The recipe says to press the dough to the filling to eliminate air which I keep forgetting. I fill them pretty full so maybe it happens by default. Place on prepared baking sheet (or assemble them right on the sheet). Brush with remaining egg wash. (Don’t skip this step, it makes them look really great.) Repeat until all the dough is used up.

Bake for 20-30 minutes, until golden brown. (Mine only take 20 minutes.)

The kid likes them with ketchup.

 

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

3 comments

  1. I am going to try these. Thanks for posting the recipe!

  2. Susan

    You’re welcome. Hope you like them. And you can do any kind of filling you want. I guess it should be sort of intrinsically moist but not dripping wet.

Leave a Reply

