Thing a Day 7

The Duck in Black reaches the top of the cliff.

TAD7a

Inigo: I do not mean to pry, but you don’t by any chance happen to have six feathers on your right wing?

Duck in Black: Do you always begin conversations this way?

Inigo: My father was slaughtered by a six-feathered duck. He was a great swordmaker, my father. When the six-feathered duck appeared and requested a special sword, my father took the job. He slaved a year before it was done. The six-feathered duck returned and demanded it, but at one-tenth his promised price. My father refused. Without a word, the six-feathered duck slashed him through the heart. I loved my father. So naturally, I challenged his murderer to a duel. I failed.

Duck in Black: How old were you?

Inigo: I was eleven years old. And when I was strong enough, I dedicated my life to the study of fencing. So the next time we meet, I will not fail. I will go up to the six-feathered duck and say, “Hello. My name is Inigo Pondtoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.”

Duck in Black: Well, I certainly hope you find him some day.

TAD7b

Inigo: You seem a decent fellow. I hate to kill you.

Duck in Black: You seem a decent fellow. I hate to die.

They begin to duel. The Duck in Black gains the upper wing.

TAD7c

He disarms Inigo.

Inigo: Kill me quickly.

Duck in Black: I would as soon destroy a stained-glass window as an artist like yourself. However, since I can’t have you following me either…

TAD7d

He knocks Inigo unconscious and goes off in pursuit of the princess and her two remaining captors.

One comment

  1. Susan

    Just among the greatest exchange in movie history.

Leave a Reply

