Thing A Day 5: Copper and Tin Gorget

Thing A Day 5 003

 

Took an antique tin lampshade, trimmed off pieces I decided I didn’t want, hammered, sniped, hand filed.  Then took a sheet of copper I had patinaed with salt and vinegar, cut out the shape of what I had for the tin overlay, filed the edges, punched by holes and riveted everything in place.  Next I riveted my links, placed my chain, and attached my clasp.

Thing A Day 5 002 Back of gorget.

About sydneystirling

I travel with The Airship Noir

3 comments

  1. Looks great. Salt and vinegar, I will have to try that.

  2. jobothewhitedove

    Looks cool, but you might want to lacquer the back before wearing it (or even pasting some felt to it) so it won’t turn your neck green.

Leave a Reply

