Day 5 – wrapped necklace

IMG_2369

This is legit what I did today. It’s strips of my scarves wrapped around cotton clothesline. I ironed the silk onto fusible web to decrease the amount of fraying though there still is some. I like that I can use the scarves that have gotten damaged somewhere along the way. A speck of dye has leached onto a scarf during steaming or an errant drop of water has ruined it, but only a small bit is messed up so the rest of the scarf is very usable. I also used these ruined scarves for the witch doctors/voodoo dolls.

 

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

2 comments

  1. This is such a great idea! I have a pile of scarves just like that. I see some gifts in their future!

  2. Christina

    Fantastic idea!

Leave a Reply

