Day Three: “Book #4 for the Eldest”

A few years ago, I attended an art journal seminar where I learned to make my own art journal from common materials such as cardboard, duct tape, paper, and string—a lesson that has proven to be quite handy.

TAD3_a

I made one for each of my three children on a Saturday morning in the fall when they decided they’d like to try to be authors and illustrators.   It was a great success, and we have since made more volumes for all of them.

TAD3_b

My Eldest, 8, is on her fourth such journal, with previous pages having been filled with imagined adventures of the ponies in Equestria, all about reindeer and Christmas, and an almost-complete retelling of the courtship of my husband and me.  This volume is much smaller than previous versions, with almost twice as many pages.  I can’t wait to see what she fills it with.

TAD3_c

I love the imaginative writing and illustrating that results from being given an entire book to just be filled with whatever comes to mind.   With exception of the cost of duct tape and clean paper, it is a fairly cheap project that reaps tremendous rewards.  I’ll keep making them as long as they keep asking for them.

About rebeccacreates

Making things makes me happy. Making things for free, upcycling, repurposing, and being generally clever makes me even happier.

Leave a Reply

