Day 3 – Silicon molds, part deux

20140203-203419.jpgTonight I used Paperclay with the silicon molds I made on Saturday. I think I may try the mold making process again. One thing I figured out is that if the mold itself isn’t very thick, it’s easy to deform the mold when you put the material in it. The large cat faces came out OK, but I think I can do better with a new mold. The medium-sized cat face looks rather like a pig. I think there just wasn’t enough surface detail on the original. The small one came out pretty well, I thought.

About bebopbeads

I fell in love with freeform beading after many years of dabbling with all manner of media. My fascination with seed beads goes back to my childhood. My mom, a Cub Scout den mother, started me on a bead loom when I was about 8, so coming back to seed beads was like coming home. You can find more of my work at http://bebopbeads.artfire.com

Leave a Reply

