Lamp and Robin scarf

robinscarf  robinscarftied

I got into a conversation with alookatthelitlethings about how robins live in Baltimore year round and how wrong that is and she said , “[And] how do you know that spring is coming if the robins never leave?” Brilliant! When I go to the next show I’ll talk to the people about it and I am sure someone will like the scarf but love the story and not be able to go home without it.

lampnotafraid

Before I was distracted by the robin I planned the lamp. The quote is by Louisa May Alcott, “I am not afraid of storms for I am learning to sail my ship.” It came out pretty well except for the join at the back. The words lined up okay after some reworking (ugh, very tedious) but then the edge was a little frayed and not really straight. The lamp came from Target and had a paper shade so the spray adhesive stuck really well.

I’m actually interested in making lamps from scratch but the deadline for applications is the day after tomorrow so this will have to do for Columbia. I will try out my own lamp for the Artscape application which is due at the end of March.

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

3 comments

  1. Lovely! I’ve always loved that Louisa May Alcott quote. And Alooka’s quote is an instant classic.

  2. I’ve been inspired by your silk painting. It appeals to me as I love watercolours. Loved seeing your work :-)

  3. How did I miss this yesterday? I’m honored to be immortalized in silk! Enjoy the year & continue to find inspiration in everything around you to create your beautiful work. Give Charlie a scratch behind the ears for me. :)

Leave a Reply

