Heritage Cooking 28: Sauerbraten

DSCF5601

 

Interesting! I wouldn’t probably do this to a nice rump roast but I guess if you grew up in a German-American household, you’d love the sour flavor of this beef roast marinated in red wine vinegar with Gingersnap Gravy! It’s not bad, but I must say it would be an acquired taste!

2  1/2 cups water

1  1/2 cups red wine vinegar

2 med. onions , sliced

1/2 lemon sliced

12 whole cloves

6 whole peppercorns

6 bay leaves

1 Tbs sugar

1 Tbs salt

1/4 teas ground ginger

a 4-lb rump roast

2 Tbs lard ( I used oil)

Soak meat in all ingredients except oil for 36 hours in the refrigerator, turning occasionally. Dry on paper towels. Brown all sides in oil. Strain marinade. Pour it over the beef and cook on low for 2 hours ( or use a pressure cooker for 20 minutes!) Serve with gingersnap gravy

DSCF5597

Gingersnap Gravy

Reserved liquid+ 1/2 cup water. Heat and stir in 3/4 cup broken up gingersnaps. Stir and cook till thickened.

About leahmama1

I love to cook Japanese food, vegan food and all kinds of cake and bread. My sourdough rye bread is my favorite. And this year's project is taking photos of the Japanese countryside, events and people here. I have lived in Japan for 40 years this week! On thingaday2013 I am cooking recipes form the American Heritage Cookbook (1975). These are historic and ethnic and regional dishes from across the country!

6 comments

  1. My husband is from a German family, and I make this for him and my father-in-law about once a month in the crock pot. It is an acquired taste as thy both prefer it to a more traditional pot roast.

  2. Pingback: Thing-A-Day 2013 Cook”book” | Thing-a-Day Forever

  3. leahmama1

    Is your recipe similar? I wonder. Do you make a gravy for it? What do they eat alongside it?

  4. It is similar–it calls for pickling spices instead of the individual ones, and a little brown sugar. For sides I make spaetzle or egg noodles, backed beans and applesauce. They would prefer red cabbage with it but I haven’t found a way to prepare that yet that I like. I make the gravy with gingersnaps just like yours.

  5. leahmama1

    That sounds pretty good. I might like this with a little horseradish( not available in Japan.) Wow! You really do make gravy with gingersnaps?! So that’s the traditional way! I don’t know what spaetzle is but want to try it!

  6. Pingback: Sauerbraten, Spätzle and Red Cabbage | Wild Rarebit

Leave a Reply

