Charlie on the urban farm

charlieday28gardengate

 

For our last day Charlie and I walked to one of my favorite places. I think Charlie must also like it for the interesting, new smells of chickens and rabbits! This is the Baltimore Free Farm’s Ash St. Garden. I was walking dogs professionally a few years ago and walked by this space frequently. It was a couple of overgrown and, unfortunately, dumped in, empty lots. Then I noticed people walking around and talking to each other. After an amazingly short amount of time but lots and lots of hard work (I felt guilty just walking by them as they hauled dirt and stumps and branches.) they cleared the land. They divided it into gardening plots. Since then they’ve added compost boxes, a greenhouse, and covered plots for winter some of which you can see at the top of the picture of Charlie at the gate.

charlieday28rabbithutch      charlieday28bigrabbit

Lately, they’ve added rabbits that, for some unfathomable reason, scattered when Charlie visited. (I only let him have a quick look and sniff and then moved him away – didn’t mean to bother the rabbits.)

charlieday28chicken      charlieday28chickens

 

Can you see the bold chicken staring Charlie down? I just love chickens. They are legal to keep in the city but only if they are 20′ from your neighbor’s property. I don’t think I’m 20′ from my neighbor’s neighbor’s property so chickens will have to wait. But I know from ksavino’s post from Feb 13 that when the time comes I can get them through the mail:)

charlieday28daffodil

 

This is the only blooming daffodil I’ve seen all month. Rather fitting that it grows in this very nurturing place.

Thank you all for following Charlie and me on our walks this month. It lent interest to the routine and to me seeing more and differently than usual.

I also learned that I really like Baltimore. I’ve lived here about 15 years. I knew I wanted to show a side other than what is often portrayed, out of a sense of fair play to the underdog, but actually I really like this place. I appreciate the energy, creativity and quirkiness.

There are so many other places I didn’t get a chance to show you. I didn’t stop by the aquatic center in Clipper Mill where Michael Phelps (Olympic swimmer) trained. Never made it to Johns Hopkins. Or the park that leads to the back of the zoo. And those are just the things within walking distance from my house. That doesn’t include everything we could drive to: the Inner Harbor, the farmer’s market (no dogs allowed anyway), downtown (Charlie’d rather not, too much traffic, too many people), Camden Yards (Orioles’ baseball stadium), or the many other neighborhoods, each with its own character.

I’ll leave you with a symbol of Baltimore seen on our walk in Hoes Heights but too far away to get Charlie in the picture.  Thanks so much for listening.

skeletonflamingo

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

4 comments

  1. It’s been great seeing Charlie’s travels and his dog’s eye view of the world :-)

  2. I’m going to miss seeing all the things that charlie gets to see on his walks!

  3. milliemollymandy

    I’ve enjoyed following Charlie’s adventures – looking forward to more next year (hopefully)

Leave a Reply

