Heritage Cooking 27: Anadama Bread

Anadama Bread

Anadama Bread

The story goes that a New England fisherman had a very lazy wife and had to cook for himself and when he made this bread he called it “Anna, damn her!” The texture is interesting as it has cooked corn meal in it. I adjusted the measurements as it was too dry to knead when I used the original proportions. I made a half recipe or one loaf. Turned out much better than expected!

350 g bread flour

7 g  dry yeast

8 g salt

1 cup water

1/2 cup cornmeal

1/4 cup molasses

17 g butter

1 egg

90  g water

Cook the cornmeal in one cup water. Cool, stir in molasses and egg. Combine all ingredients in your kneader and knead 20 minutes. Put in a greased bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Let rise till double about 40 minutes ( 60 + at room temp) Form a ball  cover and let rest 20 minutes. Shape your loaf, cover and let rise till double. I used poppy seeds on top for fun, and cut a few slits with a razor blade. Bake at 350 F for 40 minutes.

Only one more day to go! I’ve had fun making traditional foods and my cookbook looks worse for the wear but it was fun!! I hope you try one of these recipes!! My favorites were the Mormon Split Pea Soup, Rye Bread, Steak and Kidney Pie and Pepper Pot Soup! This bread was good too! I ate it while it was still hot! Mmm!

DSCF5590

DSCF5596

About leahmama1

I love to cook Japanese food, vegan food and all kinds of cake and bread. My sourdough rye bread is my favorite. And this year's project is taking photos of the Japanese countryside, events and people here. I have lived in Japan for 40 years this week! On thingaday2013 I am cooking recipes form the American Heritage Cookbook (1975). These are historic and ethnic and regional dishes from across the country!

One comment

  1. Pingback: TAD recipe “book” | Thing-a-Day Forever

Leave a Reply

