Heritage Cooking 25: Fresh Apple Cake

Streusel is on the bottom!

Streusel is on the bottom!

Lovely cake with a crunchy streusel topping and a whiff of cinnamon! It’s really easy to mix up by hand and uses ingredients found in every kitchen. This is a great treat for a little get-together of friends or family!

Mix these:

1  cup salad oil (origina calls for 1  1/4 cups)

2 cups light brown sugar

2 teas vanilla

3 eggs

(2-3 T  water if needed to mix)

Stir together:

3 cups flour

1/2 teas salt

1 teas baking soda

1  1/2 teas cinnamon

1 teas nutmeg ( if desired) ( I used a dash)

Stir the wet into the dry then add:

3 cups chopped peeled apple

1 cup chopped walnuts

Pour it into a greased and floured bundt pan or ring pan. Top with this streusel that you cut together with a fork:

2 Tbs margarine

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup oatmeal

2 teas cinnamon

2 tsp flour

Bake at 350 F for 55 minutes. Cool and remove from pan.

About leahmama1

I love to cook Japanese food, vegan food and all kinds of cake and bread. My sourdough rye bread is my favorite. And this year's project is taking photos of the Japanese countryside, events and people here. I have lived in Japan for 40 years this week! On thingaday2013 I am cooking recipes form the American Heritage Cookbook (1975). These are historic and ethnic and regional dishes from across the country!

5 comments

  1. Erinn @ www.more-sprinkles.com

    This apple cake looks great. I always make the same recipe from the costco magazine, but i’ll have to try this one!

  2. Thanks! They will build a costco in Hiroshima and it opens next month! I didn’t know they have a magazine! This is really easy and always turns out good. I hope you try it!

  3. I am going to try this one too. Apple cake is one of my husband’s favorites. I really like the theme you picked this year–and it’s given me some ideas to try to mix in with the standard meals that can get boring.

    • leahmama1

      Your comments have been encouraging! I will keep trying to do new things! Hope he likes this Apple Cake. I will go check out your blog now!!

  4. Pingback: TAD recipe “book” | Thing-a-Day Forever

Leave a Reply

