Mum and Dad

 

On the way out today I noticed that my neighbour had been busy. Sue takes care of our shared garden and this morning she must have been busy again preparing for spring as this planter was outside my door. I quickly made a card printing a copy of one of my monoprints (posted here earlier in the month). The print was made from a fern leaf from our garden.

 

I’ve titled this “Mum and Dad” because Mabel and I go to see Mum and Dad most Sundays for a roast dinner. Today I had wanted to take their fingerprints to make into polymer stamps to make an impression in silver clay. I tried with an inkless printing kit but the impression wasn’t clear enough. Then we tried with an ink pad but I think the prints were a little too inky. Also, I was using Mum’s scanner and I don’t know if I got the brightness/contrast part nailed or not. As they are due to fly out of the country, we decided to wait to try again on their return (and I’m sure it would look a bit odd going through airport security with black ink stained fingertips!) When they get back I’ll have a mamoth fingerprinting session!

The photo of Mum and Dad is one that I took in September 2012 while we were on holiday in the Lake District.

IMG_5830 IMG_5829 mumndadlakes2012

About bubblemunch

I live in the historic city of York. I enjoy most things arty and crafty and am greatly inspired by nature.

Leave a Reply

