Heritage Cooking 24: Philadelphia Pepper Pot Soup

Philadelphia Pepper Pot Soup

Philadelphia Pepper Pot Soup

I used to love the Campbell’s Pepper Pot but don’t know if they still sell it. I may be hard ot find tripe. I had trouble  finding a shank or any soup bone! So I used cut-up beef that is for stock. This turned out very good. It’s still cold in Hiroshima so we will enjoy this hot and spicy soup tonight!!

1/2 lb tripe

1 veal shank with bone

water to cover

1 sliced onion

1 carrot, diced

1/2 cup diced celery

1/2 teas whole peppercorns

3-4 whole cloves

1 teas salt

1/8 to 1/4 teas cayenne pepper

1 teas dried basil

1/2 teas dried thyme

1 sprig of parsley

3 medium potatoes, cubed

Cook tripe in water with some salt for one or two hours. Drain and put in frig. ( I didn’t do this. I cooked it with the beef in a pressure cooker for 10-15 minutes.) Then add veggies and spices. Cook 15 minutes. Add potatoes and cook until tender. Check seasonings, adding more salt or pepper if needed. I also added one beef bouillon cube.

About leahmama1

I love to cook Japanese food, vegan food and all kinds of cake and bread. My sourdough rye bread is my favorite. And this year's project is taking photos of the Japanese countryside, events and people here. I have lived in Japan for 40 years this week! On thingaday2013 I am cooking recipes form the American Heritage Cookbook (1975). These are historic and ethnic and regional dishes from across the country!

One comment

  1. Pingback: TAD recipe “book” | Thing-a-Day Forever

Leave a Reply

