More Art with Charlie

charlieday22mica

I had to pick up the glass for the new lights today so drove downtown. Didn’t really have energy for much else so stopped in the middle to give Charlie a walk somewhere interesting.

These pictures were taken around MICA, the Maryland Institute College of Art, which is on the edge of the Bolton Hill neighborhood. This glass building is pretty new. I participated in a craft show there and had to schlep my stuff down this really annoying staircase. I’m sure it was artistic and wonderful but the angle of the stairs and the handrail made it really awkward to walk down.

charlieday22sculpture

 

The grassy area that splits the road in front of MICA always has a new crop of art for Artscape (the huge arts show that I’m applying to). These are last year’s which all seem to be common things: gas pumps, a betting window and check out counters. I must say that they’re not my favorite pieces of art.

One year they had a sort of library where people brought books and borrowed books which I thought was great. Another year an artist made fiberglass tree trunks with colorful tree rings. One of the two artists for those pieces was Susie Brandt! She’s a professor at MICA. I’ve gotten her mail and been mistaken for her when I worked at a bookstore. (She thought the prof was moonlighting?) I met Prof. Brandt, very charming, when I had a few pieces in an art show where she was the juror. Actually got a prize during the show and heard that the venue got a complaint from someone questioning why the juror had awarded herself a prize!

charlieday22lightrail

 

The light rail of Baltimore is limited to a north/south corridor. If you live near it it’s very convenient, going all the way down to the airport, the football and baseball stadiums downtown and MICA (in the middle). It goes all the way north to the suburbs about a mile from the NCR trail where Charlie and I walked in the snow which you may remember from earlier this month.

charlieday22frownyface

 

Happened to pass this sad, zombie (?) face in the bars over a boarded up window I think.

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

Leave a Reply

