Heritage Cooking 21:Beef and Kidney Pie

Beefand KidneyPieAlso called Steak and Kidney Pie, this dish was brought over from England. I’m very excited to try it but I had such a hard time finding the beef kidney. So here is the recipe and I thought it was delicious, but some people may think it’s an acquired taste. My husband used to have his class dissect the kidney of a cow during the lab sessions in biology class so he isn’t wild about eating it. Nevertheless,he was a good sport and ate 2 helpings!

BeefKidneyPie2

1  lb beef kidney

1 medium onion, sliced

1/3 cup red wine

4 bay leaves

3 whole peppercorns

2  lbs beef round steak or other tender cuts, cubed in one inch cubes

1/2 cup flour

3 Tbs oil

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/4 cup snipped parsley

1/4 cup chopped celery leaves

1 teas marjoram ( didn’t have it)

1  1/2 cups water

salt

1 cup sliced mushrooms

2 Tbs flour to thicken

DSCF5514

Wash kidneys and remove membrane. Cut in 1 inch pieces. Marinate in wine with 3 bay leaves, peppercorns and sliced onions for 1 hour. Drain and reserve 1/3 cup marinade liquid. Coat steak cubes in flour and brown in oil.Add kidney pieces and brown. Stir in wine, seasonings, water. Cover and simmer for one hour. (30 minutes?) add mushroom ( saute them in a little butter first?) Cook 5 minutes then, use 2 T flour and a little water to make thickening. stir into the meat juices, stirring quickly. Let cool and transfer to an oven dish. Cover with pastry, brush with beaten egg and bake in the oven for 20-30 minutes at 450 F.

DSCF5515

( I tasted the mixture and added a little Worcestershire sauce and salt. It is nice to serve with black pepper. I made a bout 1/3 of the recipe, using 200 g of kidney and 350 g of steak. It was just right for 2 or 3 as a main dish.)

About leahmama1

I love to cook Japanese food, vegan food and all kinds of cake and bread. My sourdough rye bread is my favorite. And this year's project is taking photos of the Japanese countryside, events and people here. I have lived in Japan for 40 years this week! On thingaday2013 I am cooking recipes form the American Heritage Cookbook (1975). These are historic and ethnic and regional dishes from across the country!

9 comments

  1. One helping is a good sport. Two helpings and he has to admit he likes it.
    It looks lovely. I don’t like liver so I wonder if I wouldn’t like kidney as well. I’ve always wanted to try it because of its mention in P.G. Wodehouse’s books and how much Tuppy likes it.

    • Maybe he liked it, you think? Well, I haven’t read P.G. Wodehouse but I have seen it mentioned in books I’ve read too. So now I know what it’s like. If you don’t like liver, you might not like it. But the red wine marinade does a lot and it isn’t as string a taste as liver! Maybe you can make a steak and steak pie?? I’ll have to find out who Tuppy is!

      • I am including a link to the t.v. interpretation of the books with Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie as Jeeves and Bertie Wooster. They’re wonderful, though the attempts at American accents are almost universally cringe-worthy. The show went several seasons. This link is for the episode with Tuppy and the steak and kidney pie. He really seems to worship it.

  2. I was wondering what kidneys tasted like too. Is it similar to the giblets that come with a turkey?

  3. Pingback: TAD recipe “book” | Thing-a-Day Forever

  4. Pingback: English Parsley Potatoes | From the Hobbit Hole Kitchen

  5. Pingback: NATURAL KIDNEY CLEANSER | stevecelebrates

  6. Pingback: Nyre I Vinsaus – Kidney In Wine Sauce | RecipeReminiscing

Leave a Reply

