Parasols came, on hold, another finished thing

parasol

There are pictures of a finished silk square below but I’m actually more excited about the parasols. Unfortunately after some experimenting and even more shopping, I discovered that I needed to order a chemical fixative. So, I’ve done that and really hope it gets here quickly so I can include the parasol in my craft show application, due March 1. Preliminary experiments painting without the fixative, while not thing-a-day-picture-worthy are positive so I’m pretty sure we won’t have another “painting on glass” fiasco. I really like the simple construction and mechanism. I hope other people do and it’s not another case of me liking informal and others liking formal and finished. I think it will be a nice contrast to the graffiti.

umbrellainner

Lest you think I was otherwise idle, I’ve included a picture of a finished piece, this time with a graffiti letter. I spray painted the silk before mounting it on the canvas square with some new type of masking tape. I don’t know if I should attribute the success to it being flat or the tape but the line did come out nice and crisp. It was a pain though so I’m going to try it on the canvas next time.

Iside

I

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

One comment

  1. Looking forward to seeing the parasols :-)

Leave a Reply

