Day 28?! – Heron, etc

I can’t believe it’s the last day! Thanks so much for the suggestions on the background. I wasn’t sure about the green but it was pretty unanimous so I tried it and I really like it. So, thanks, everybody!  I realized after I posted it that his head is too big, but “It’s not perfect, but it’s finished.” is the new motto, right?

IMG_2477 IMG_2476

I finished the crab, too. Another INPBIF situation. It’s not bad. It’ll sell and I’ll do a better one next time. I remember the first time I did a crab I was much looser in the line. I didn’t want to have to trace all the joints in the crab correctly. I sort of forgot that when I started so tried to make it messier with mixed results. These shells are farther along the scarf.

IMG_2470 IMG_2471 IMG_2472

Remember the necklace from earlier this month? I finally got the silver in the mail and finished it off. I wore it to work yesterday. Had a long conversation with a customer about it. We came up with the idea of adding hand-made polymer beads on some to give dimension. I don’t know if I’ll be able to do them, but I know who to turn to for inspiration.

IMG_2479

I didn’t realize it was the last day of the month until I looked at some people’s posts earlier today. I hadn’t planned on finishing the scarves today because I spent a fair amount of time de-furring my son’s room. He’s visiting from college and is highly allergic to the cats. This is what he encountered when he went up to bed tonight.

IMG_2481

Goodnight, everybody. Thanks so much for your comments and your posts. I hope everyone’s respective countries get calmer and you can relax and just keep creating wonderful things.

 

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

7 comments

  1. Your heron looks mighty fine :)

  2. PrettyProject

    Gorgeous! And I need to borrow that motto! :/

  3. Maybe March should be unfinished project month. The background you did on these really capture a beachiness vibe and your shells, wow!

  4. Hi Susan,
    I saw this on my Facebook page today (It was actually shared by Barbara Cobb, so you might have seen it!) But I thought of you when I saw it :)

    http://shop.nordstrom.com/c/scarf-video

    Happy Spring,
    Sarah

  5. Hi, Sarah. I’ve been calling you Bubblemunch, which is a great name, by the way. I can’t thank you enough for the video link. I was contemplating sewing the ends of some of my scarves so they became infinity scarves, but which ones? Someone was sure to look at a scarf and want it the opposite of how I did it. This video solves it all with a simple tying technique. I doubt I can convey accurately to you how much of a problem this solves for me! Eternal gratitude, indebted forever, utterly beholden, etc.

  6. Yay – glad it’s helped. :D

Leave a Reply

