Day 27 – Backgrounds

IMG_2468 IMG_2469

I need your help. Against my new rule, discovered earlier in thing-a-day, I didn’t paint the background first. Now I don’t know what to do with it. I’ve uploaded another scarf I did today with the type of background that works well (the crab and heron are missing some dark black or brown lines that will bring them together). I don’t necessarily want to do the light tan with the heron, though I think light is the way to go. I would kind of like to do something different, though I don’t have to. I was originally thinking of blue for water, but if I do that the Blue Heron is going to look gray and dull, right? Maybe tan by the heron changing to blue as you get closer to the other end? What do I do, any ideas?

About Susan Brandt

I am an artist concentrating on hand-painting silk. I sell online (susanbrandt.etsy.com), at craft shows and in shops. I don't have a plan for Thing-A-Day 2014, though, as always, it will most likely involve new hand-painted silk stuff.

4 comments

  1. PrettyProject

    1st of all, I love him! He’s really handsome! :)
    I like the idea of tan to blue… you could also play with greens since they always like to hide in the tall herbs/bushes around lakes?

  2. I was thinking pale green too, or that pinkish golden color the sand turns on the beach as the sun is setting and the sky changes colors.

  3. These are gorgeous. I can’t offer any advice at all but the comments earlier both sound like excellent ideas.

  4. They really are pretty. I’m especially fond of the heron. I like the idea of to blue and I like the hint of green idea added in maybe as well…. I was originally thing that rusty color on his throat, but that might get too dark.

Leave a Reply

